Career Achievement Awards
Stanley Slipper Gold Medal
for outstanding Career Contributions to Oil & Gas Exploration in Canada

The Stanley Slipper Gold Medal is amongst the highest honours awarded by the Canadian Energy Geoscience Association (CEGA).  The Stanley Slipper Gold Medal was established in 1989 and is named for Mr. Stanley E. Slipper (1890-1982) who was the Alberta Society of Petroleum Geologists' first President and a pioneer of early exploration efforts in Alberta.  The medal is presented annually for outstanding contributions to petroleum exploration and development either in Canada or by Canadian-based petroleum geologists working internationally.  In contrast to other CEGA awards, the Stanley Slipper Award recognizes, in part, accomplishments in business and in the broader petroleum industry through the application of the knowledge of petroleum geology.

Nominee Eligibility
   - Must be a member of CEGA
   - Must be living at the time of nomination
   - Must be a petroleum geologist
   - Must not be serving on the current CEGA Board of Directors of the Stanley Slipper Award Committee or have served on either in the last two years
   - Must not have received the Award previously
   - Must be recognized as having made significant contributions in one or more of the following areas:
          - initiating and/or leading exploration or development programs
          - making significant discoveries on new or existing exploration trends
          - applying new technologies to exploration and exploitation
          - teaching and/or training of petroleum geologists

To Nominate

   - Provide a letter with compelling evidence to support the nominee's professional and career achievements. The letter should target 250 words.  Please complete the award nomination form by October 31st.
   - Two separate letters of about 250 words from other CEGA members supporting the nomination should be submitted, either by uploading on the form or submitting to the CEGA office [email protected].

2022 Recipient



Dr. Brad Hayes

Read the award citation here.

Past Recipients

2021 - Dr. Thomas Maslow
2020 - Dean Potter

2019 -
Jim Gray
2018 -
Grant Wach
2017 - Alison Essery
Edward (Ted) Bogle
- Richard Walls
- Wayne K. Foo
2013 - R. Marc Bustin
2012 - Roger W. Smith 
2011 - Edward (Ned) Gilbert
2010 - Norman Fischbuch
2009 - Michael Rose
2008 - No award granted
2007 - Bob Meneley
2006 - John M. Andrichuk and Ralph W. Edie
2005 - Gerry Macey
2004 - Patricia Lee
2003 - Robert Yurkovich
2002 - Harm Larue
2001 - Charles L. Stelck
2000 - J.C. Anderson
1999 - Clay Riddell
1998 - Bill Gussow
1997 - Andrew D. Baillie
1996 - Don Axford
1995 - George Fong
1994 - Gerald G.L. Henderson
1993 - David .L. Barss
1992 - Arne .R. Nielsen
1991 - R. James Kirker
1990 - Michael E. Hriskevich
1989 - John A. Masters

No content found

No content found